Articles / Using White Space in Web ...

Nov. 9, 2017

Using White Space in Web Design: Best Websites of 2017

Creative |Industry

According to Jan Tschichold, "White Space is to be regarded as an active element, not a passive background". We couldn't agree more.



Using white space in web design is nothing new. A few years back when it became a huge trend, we were early adopters and used plenty of the stuff for our site. So much so, in fact, that we received a lot recognition and we were featured in global print magazines, design award websites and popular design blogs.

That was then, and now that white space is so frequently adopted, we tend not to stumble across articles that celebrate it so much anymore. That’s why we though we create a quick article to show how the usage of white space in web design has progressed, and share some of the sites that we feel are doing it the best.

What is White Space in Web Design? 

No it doesn’t have to be white as such, it might be blue or black. White space (like white noise) just indicates ‘empty’ or ‘nothing’. Instead of using small margins or padding, the designers has used a lack of content or empty space in order to emphasise the content that is there and create a sense of spaciousness. It’s that simple.

Here’s a few of our favourites:

Sweet-Studio-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Sweet Studio - http://www.sweet.studio/
Mast-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Studio Mast - http://www.studiomast.co/
Mathhew-Vernon-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Matthew Vernon - http://matthewvernon.co/
Maison-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Maison Vignaux - http://www.maison-vignaux.com/
Word-Form-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Word Form - https://word-form.com/
Wild-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Wild - https://wild.as/
Instrument-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Instrument - http://www.instrument.com/
Jony-Guedj-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Jony Guedj - http://www.jonyguedj.com/
CharlotteStone--White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Charlotte Stone - https://charlotte-stone.com/
Verk-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Verk - https://verkstore.com/
KBS-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

KBS - https://kbsagency.ca/
Simon-Ammann-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Simon Ammann - https://simon.works/
Mai-36-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Mai 36 - https://www.mai36.com/
Gin-Lane--White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Gin Lane - https://www.ginlane.com/
A-Friend-Of-Mineh-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Friend Of Mine - https://afriendofmine.nl/
The-Perfect-Grid-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

The Prefect Grid Book - https://theperfectgridbook.com/
Feebles-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

The Feebles - http://www.thefeebles.com/
Andre-Ribeiro-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Andre Ribeiro - https://andreribeiro.co/
C6-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

C6 Life - https://c6life.com/
Biron-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Chris Biron - http://biron.io/
Fpee-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Fabrice Spee - http://www.fspee.com/
Karolis-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Karolis Kosas - http://karoliskosas.com/
Modern-Crafting-White-Space-In-Web-Design.jpg

Modern Crafting - https://collagecrafting.com/

Want to create something awesome together? Get in touch...

Generated 19th November 2017 08:35:50